1) FCC Collaboration

The existing scientific cooperation agreement between the European Center for Nuclear Research (CERN) and Ankara University within the scope of the “Future Circular Collider (FCC) Collaboration” has been renewed. According to the agreement, physics and design studies will continue within the scope of Ankara University’s current collaboration with the FCC Collaboration at CERN. The Future Circular Collider (FCC) collaboration, signed by FCC Working Group Chairman Michael Benedik and Ankara University Rector Necdet ÜNÜVAR, will take part in the collaboration to contribute to physics and design studies. With the work to be carried out by the members of our institute; Professor İlkay TÜRK ÇAKIR, Professor Hatice DURAN YILDIZ, Asst. Prof. Ümit KAYA, Lecturer Çağlar KAYA, Lecturer İ. Burak KOÇ and Ankara University Physics Department faculty members Professor Orhan ÇAKIR, Assoc. Prof. Sinan KUDAY, Assoc. Prof. Aysuhan OZANSOY, Assoc. Prof. Volkan ARI and Res. Asst. Ali Can CANBAY; we will continue to contribute to FCC physics, detector and data analysis studies by taking part in existing CERN FCC working groups.

2) CLIC CTF3 Collaboration

The existing scientific cooperation agreement between the “European Center for Nuclear Research (CERN) and Ankara University within the scope of the “Compact Linear Collider Test Facility” (CLIC CTF3) has been renewed.


DESY, Deutsches Elektronen SYnchrotron, https://www.desy.de/index_eng.html
Notke Str. 85, Hamburg, Germany
Year of agreement: 17.06.1996
The German Electron Synchrotron (DESY) is a member of the Helmholtz Association and one of the world’s leading accelerator centres. It has two centers in Hamburg and Zeuthen (Berlin). It is Germany’s largest national research center. The cooperation agreement is continued and extended for five-year periods.
Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR), http://www.hzdr.de
Bautzner Landstraße 400, 01328 Dresden, Germany
I. Agreement year:

II. Agreement year: 2010
Forschungzentrum Dresden (FZD) is one of the few national research centers in Germany, located 17 km east of Dresden. Research at the center is carried out by 6 institutes.
– Institute of Ion Beam Physics and Materials Research
– Institute of Radiopharmacy
– Radiation Sources Institüte, ELBE
– Institute of Safety Research
– Institute of Radiochemistry
– Dresden High Magnetic Field Laborator
Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin (HZB), BESSY (Berliner Elektronenspeicherring-Gesellscaft für Synschrotronstarhlung), https://www.helmholtz-berlin.de/en/
Albert-Einstein-Str. 15 12489 Berlin, Germany
Year of agreement:

BESSY, Berlin Synchrotron Radiation Research Center, is a research center jointly founded in 1979 by DESY (Hamburg), Forschungzentrum Julich (FJZ), Forchungzentrum Kalsruhe (FZK), Hahn-Meitner Institut Berlin (HMI) and Max Planck Institute (MPI). This quintet partnership established and operated the BESSY-I laboratory in Berlin between 1979 and 1989, and in 1998 they built the BESSY-II laboratory in Berlin-Adlershof. The Berlin-Adlershof area, where BESSY is located, was designed and developed by the German government as a Science and Technology park, where many institutes and research centers are located and employ approximately 10,000 people.
CERN, European Center for Nuclear Research, http://www.cern.ch
CH-1211 Geneva 23, Switzerland
Years of agreement:
ATLAS (1997)
CLIC (2005)
CERN is the world’s largest accelerator center, founded jointly by 12 European countries in 1954. The number of member states is 21. Our country signed the associated membership agreement on 12.05.2013. Ankara University has been a member of the LHC-ATLAS experiment since 1997, with the financial support of first TÜBİTAK and then TAEK. Ankara University participated in the CERN-CLIC project in 2004, through the projects carried out with the support of TAEK, and within this framework, training accelerator physicists in CERN and CLIC laboratories, mutual information and scientist exchange, etc. signed the cooperation agreement providing opportunities in August 2005. The cooperation agreement was renewed in 2013.
7) Ankara University – Cockcroft Institute (CI) (England)
Cockcroft Institute, UK,  http://www.cockcroft.ac.uk
Sci-Tech Daresbury Daresbury, Warrington, WA4 4AD United Kingdom 
Year of agreement:
May 2011

Ankara University – IHEP (China)
International High Energy Physics Institute, http://english.ihep.cas.cn
19B Yuquan Road, Shijingshan District, Beijing, China
Year of agreement:
December 2011
European X-Ray Free Electron Laser Facility, http://www.xfel.eu
European XFEL GmbH, Holzkoppel 4 22869 Schenefeld, Germany
Year of agreement: May 2012
The European XFEL Facility is the world’s most powerful radiation source (FEL) facility, established in Hamburg under the coordination of the DESY accelerator center of 13 European countries. Scientific research at the facility is planned to begin in 2017.
European Spallation Source Facility, http://europeanspallationsource.se
221 00 Lund, Sweden
Year of agreement:
September 2013

ESS is being built as the world’s most powerful neutron production and use center, established jointly by 17 European countries and based on the high-flux proton accelerator with GeV energy.
Instituto Nazionale di Fizica Nucleare (INFN) Laboratori Nazionali del Sud (LNS)
95123 Catania, Italy
Year of agreement:
September 2014

INFN-LNS center is an important research center where accelerator-based nuclear physics and ion physics studies are carried out. It was established as the branch of INFN in Catania (Sicily).